Nam Province situated in the south of the Red River Delta, southern
gateway of Hanoi. It shares borders with Hung Yen and Ha Tay on the
north, Thai Binh on the east, Hoa Binh on the west, Nam Dinh and Ninh
Binh on the southeast and south. The province's diverse terrain includes
mainly the low-lying plains, hills, mountains. The two major rivers are
Day River and Chau Giang River.
Tropical climate, divided into two
seasons: dry season from December last year to April in the following
year, the rainy season from May to October. The average annual
temperature around 23 º C.
Ha Nam has a long lasting culture. In
the war of resistance against the French and Americans, the town has
been flattened three times. Today, Phu Ly town is the center of culture,
politics, and economy of the province. Province is small but there are
many historic and scenic places such as Cam mountain, Ngu Dong Son, Ba
Danh pagoda, Luon cave, Kha Phong Cavern ... It also has many
traditional festivals including famous wrestling of Lieu Doi.
Ba Danh Pagoda - Ngoc Mountain
Location: Ba Danh Pagoda – Ngoc Mountain situated in Danh Xa village, Ngoc Son commune, Kim Bang district, Ha Nam province.
Ba Chua Pagoda is very famous. The temple is 10km far from Phu Ly town,
located on the right bank of the Day River. This scenic has the area of
about 10ha, with majestic scenery, remote quiet villages. The south of
the pagoda overlooks romantic Day River. Legend said that the pagoda was
built in the 7th century and the worships of Justice (Phap Van, Phap
Vu, Phap Loi, and Phap Dien). During Le Hy Tong king period (1675 -
1705), the temple was rebuilt more spacious and beautiful. People see
the beautiful ancient scenery, so they shift it in flooded position and
brought the Buddha statue to the temple, which is called Ba Danh pagoda.
One of the treasures here is Ba Chua Danh statue (Phap Vuy) posture on a
throne, the whole body on a tree root and many other artifacts in
Ly-Tran style are stored.
Throughout many times of restoration,
the current scale of the temple was repaired in Thanh Thai 8th king
period, the complete structure including the gate, natural flavor,
central building, and queen apartments. There are many pictures carved
supernatural themes. Duong Quy Phi statue with two maids Kim Thi and
Lieu Thi was put in the queen apartments dating 17-18 centuries.
burning incense in the temple, visitors climb up Ngoc Mountain, through
the luxuriant orchard, including the thousand year old tree. With
majestic landscape, ancient Ba Danh temple is increasingly attracting
Truc temple - Ngu Dong Son
Location: Truc Temple - Ngu Dong Son situated in Quyen Son hamlet, Thi Son commune, Kim Bang district, Ha Nam province.
Temple - Ngu Dong Son is the worship of national hero Ly Thuong Kiet.
This scenic area has charming natural scenery, evergreen mountains; the
temple is among the poetic Truc Forest, a unique cave system.
is a legendary about mountain area that has become famous. Formerly,
there is a lot of kind of bamboo trees here: green bamboo is like the
hair, falling down throughout the domain. In 1089, the group's ships of
Ly Thuong Kiet conquered the south through Quyen Son village. Suddenly a
big wind blows, breaking both masts and swept large flag of his army up
the mountain. Ly Thuong Kiet asked the ships stopped with the soldiers
went on ashore to celebrate a ceremony praying for victory. That time,
after the big victory, Ly Thuong Kiet with his troops came back here to
do Thanksgiving feast to reward the army and opened long month festival
with all kind of fun for the villagers celebrating victory. As the event
that the flag was blown, Ly Thuong Kiet named the mountain Cuon Son.
Later, in order to commemorate the merits of the great General, the
villagers have set Ly Thuong Kiet shrine here.
The temple was
built among bamboo forest, so it call Truc temple. After nearly
thousands of years, now the bamboo forest is no longer like in the past,
but around the temple, still remains thousands of bamboo shades. The
golden bamboo itself is graceful in the wind for religious landscape
The temple was built with ironwood, 6 meters high. The front hall is a
five bay which appeared in the late 17th century and popular in the late
19th century. Three queen apartments were built with the same style. On
the gate, there is a carving system. Coming to Truc temple, visitors
can have chance to come to Cuon Son (now known as the Forbidden
Mountain). Perhaps because the evidence was inspired to stick with the
past, so the mountain has spiritual significance to local residents. So
that, the Forbidden Mountain still remains many primitive features with
rich ecosystems. There is a chessboard on the peak made of natural
stone-where fairies often invite each other to open the meeting,
drinking , sightseeing and playing chess.
Forbidden Mountain has
a unique cave system: 5 caves forming continuous cavern, known as Ngu
Dong Son. The diverse structure with a variety of things like
stalactites, reminding visitors of the rich imagination: the pregnant
mother's milk, open rice cooker, elephant, turtle ... Color, soft,
stalactites ... are also different. There are stalactites hidden deep in
the dark powder like pearls. There are drum-shaped stalactites which is
very special when beating up, like a real ring.
mountain character of Forbidden Mountain made inspiration for many
visitors who had left here a lot of romantic poems. Today, coming to
Truc Temple - Ngu Dong Son, visitors seem to be lost in the heaven and
surely they will want to come back next year
Long Doi Son pagoda
Location: Doi Son Pagoda located in Doi Son Mountain, Doi Son commune, Duy Tien district, Ha Nam, 8km far from Phu Ly to the north.
This ancient temple has much cultural and sophisticated architecture
over the historical period. Doi Son Pagoda festival is held every year
on March 21st lunar year. With favorable geographical position,
beautiful natural scenery, this place is an attractive tourist
destination. The temple was built on a mountain, within 2 hectares of
forest gardens. The pagoda towards the south, as the proverb: Doi
mountain knee, Tuan Vuong foothills, Emperor rose up, circulated
thousands of times.
Long Doi Son pagoda also called Dien Linh.
The temple was built by Emperor Ly Thanh Tong and Y Lan from 1054 (and
Chancellor Duong Dai Gia and Dam Cuu Chi are invited as two chairmen to
take part in the construction). To the Ly Nhan Tong period, the king
continued developing and building Thien Dien Linh horn tower from 1118
to 1121. The works here consist of temples and towers.